Stop talking, Start doing

Today, I had an epiphany…

Today, I went out to buy something, and as the many vendors called out to me trying to catch my attention, I noticed that one of them was a man with a “hunch back” and my first instinct was to avoid him, a voice in my head said “not him, anybody but him”, this was immediately followed by an immense feeling of shame. I finally bought what I needed from him but all the way home I berated myself, I could not believe that I had reacted in that way to someone with a disability and one who was working to make a living legitimately. A disability that was the result of a medical condition, tuberculosis of the spine.
I felt so ashamed.

Now for people that know me, you may know that I pride myself as a “compassionate, caring, look out for others do-gooder”. So how could my first reaction be not to do business with a man because of a disability? I, who have had various arguments about how I think it’s wrong that some people decide to turn begging for alms into a career just because of a small disability, I have always been of the opinion that if these people try to make a living doing some work, customers would patronize them if only to encourage them.

Were all my proclamations and passionate talks no more than the ranting of a self-righteous person?
Was I no different afterall?
Was I no different from the people who looked down on the disabled?
Was I no different from people of a certain part of Benue state who believe that a child who exhibited symptoms that sounded suspiciously like epilepsy to me, is a snake and therefore should be drowned in the river?
Was I no different from tribes across the world that believed that girl children are less than children?
Was I no different from the very people I accuse of insensitivity and refer to as inhumane?

This was indeed a terribly sad realization but more than that, it was a wake up call…

Just like me, I realize we are all passionate about a lot of things, we talk, we talk passionately, we proudly support causes on our twitter, Facebook, BBM and other profiles. We support causes theoretically.
However, lets all try something for a while, lets stop talking about it and actually do something.
Lets push past the many excuses that never run dry.

Let’s stop talking, Let’s do.

 

Β©Adeola Matemilola 2012

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Adeola Matemilola and aeyshadeedee.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

8 thoughts on “Stop talking, Start doing

  1. Kneeyie says:

    It’s actually very hard, or maybe it’s just a little harder than we all think. That first step towards action. Testing all our long held hypothesis in the field of reality. U passed ur first test, proud of u…

Please say something. I love reading your comments.

