Prisoner of Words

I’m a prisoner of words unsaid
Just slowly drowning in this prison of thoughts and feelings
Compromise… That should be my name
I have so much to say
And sometimes, I start to speak, with the words already in my mouth
But I feel the warder’s tap on my shoulder, reminding me of my position
So I stop and stay silent instead and just nod gently
Compromise, that’s my name after all

I have so much to say
Views and ideas about things I hear you talk about
But when I start to speak to let you know what’s on my mind,
The words get stuck in my throat and I stay silent instead
But I have so much to say,
So much in fact, that sometimes I feel the words choking me and I have to clutch at my throat to keep from bathing you in a vomit of these words
But I’m drowning in my own river of complacency

Would you want me free though
Or are you secretly pleased with my self-imposed sentence
Would you approve if start to let out what’s on my mind and begin to oppose you sometimes
Or do you secretly enjoy the fact that I simply agree with you always
High off this drug that I’m addicted to
And why shouldn’t you be
When this prison is of my own making.

 

©Adeola Matemilola 2012

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Adeola Matemilola and aeyshadeedee.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

19 thoughts on “Prisoner of Words

  1. MsDuro says:

    Well, we imprison ourselves and then go ahead to free ourselves when we can’t take been prisoners anymore. By that time we won’t care what happens to us or the people involved, because we would have found a remedy to the fear we’ve been doctoring.

    I like this post :*

    • 😀 thank you!
      You’re right, we have to get to that point where we can’t take the silence anymore and then just scream out but the danger is most people live their lives locked up inside themselves, afraid to speak up for very many reasons. I’m glad you enjoyed it though

  2. I would L♥√ع to hear you speak, not just hear but listen and just listen but put your thoughts into consideration. I don’t think you should be a prisoner of your words atleast not anyore…

  3. L̃̾Õ☺Õ̾Ô=D:D=));)ÕÔ☺ÔÕ̾L̃̾ , having said so much in my head after reading this, I can vomit. You are indeed sicker than I thought, I love this…I know this is you, but you have never really held back from giving me a mothful of goo…….Oya write another one.

  4. Tomiwa Olajide says:

    ….Your playins small does not serve the world. There’s nothing enlightening about shrinking so that others won’t feel insecure around you…. Its not just in some, its in everyone.
    You had this on your wall…
    You have it in your head as well.
    Let it get into your heart.
    *smiles & hugs*

  5. Toyin Rabiu says:

    Someone once said this and i quote “always keep your words soft and Simple incase you would have to swallow it back you won’t get choked”We don’t have to be a prisoner of words,all we have to do is to choose our words wisely and carefully that way we avoid so many misunderstanding and misconceptions.So feel free express yourself,argue a bit,challenge a little and at the end you are sure you’ve been heard.

  6. Deedee! This is a very lovely piece. I’m loving it. You have to learn to speak out though, you’ve been in this prison for wayyyyyyyy tooooo long; you know what I mean.

  7. silence is golden…words are ancient..your pen has jst expressed your depth..keep ur pen close to you,d world awaits such ink in paper..deep stuff

Please say something. I love reading your comments.

