YOLO vs YODO

I saw a hand reach in through the window and snatch at my phone, startled, I moved away and he missed by mere inches, he calmly jogged away and out of the traffic just like a pedestrian crossing the road probably thinking to himself “oh shit! I didn’t get that, oh well, tomorrow’s another day. And nobody has a right to criticize my means of making a living, I must survive.” “After all, you only live once”
But I say… as he jogged back through traffic, a car could have run him over… If I had been prepared, I could have grabbed his hand and told my dad to drive and drag him along the road for a bit just to punish him (hahaha I kno! Twisted mind) … He could have stolen from someone and gotten caught and become the victim of a mob. “You only die once”

They had all gone to the beach, had fun, drank quite a lot, partied hard until really late. He’s driving but he’s had the most to drink because “he doesn’t really get drunk”. Nobody’s thinking about it though, everybody’s just having fun. Driving away from the beach, he pretended to want to slam into a couple of people, accelerating hard towards them and braking just short of hitting them, they’re all laughing and throwing insults at people. Everybody’s just having fun. “After all, you only live once”
But I say… what if the brake had failed or his feet had slipped and he had hit someone, what if in hurling insults at people, they had insulted someone that could have made them very sorry, what if they had been involved in an accident as a result of the alcohol and general excitement?
“You only die once”

You might go through life all careful and shit, not having too much fun, not taking too many chances… And die tomorrow.

You might go through life having way too much fun, taking every chance you get, speaking everything that’s on your mind… And live a hundred years to deal with the consequences.

YOLO vs YODO… My opinion is no one argument wins.
Which would you choose?
#teamYOLO or #teamYODO

 

©Adeola Matemilola 2012

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Adeola Matemilola and aeyshadeedee.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

20 thoughts on “YOLO vs YODO

  1. 'wande says:

    Hmm.. This is definitely something to think about..especially if you’ve been too caught up with this “YOLO” thing. Good job deedee!

  2. Personally, I will say you guys should follow teamOLODO, L̃̾Õ☺Õ̾Ô=D:D=));)ÕÔ☺ÔÕ̾L̃̾ …I don’t see how and why my lifestyle will b ruled by someones word of mouth. Its obvious that you can never live twice, neither can you die twice. If sum1 want to YOLO, fine, and if he wants to YODO, fine! Me I will sit in the corner and call him/her OLODO, cos in the end YCLODT(You can’t live or die twice).

  3. Toyin Rabiu says:

    For me I’m certainly gonna go for YOLO,I only Live once so y don’t I enjoy it to the fullest but in so doing,remembering God and prayin that nothing bad happens

  4. Bonsra Alfred says:

    You Only Die Once so why be scared of it? When it comes, embrace it wholly (unless it comes in a form of excrutiating pain). Either ways enjoy life knowing that death is its ultimate prerequisite. YOLO vs YODO… agreed no one argument wins.

  5. salah sb says:

    I only live once and den re-incarnate later to defeat diein once. I fit b Anikulapo. Person even dey die many times dats why some say ‘Otikuri’ wen dey see something strange. Live ur life wen u hav da chance.

  6. shakara says:

    I’m team Y.O.D.O but with reservations. We don’t live only once really,since 19-gbolongbo our ancestors have always believed in an after-life,so there is some grey-bluish ‘thing’ with light we walk into after we die. But as the writer says,”You might go through life all careful and shit, not having too much fun, not taking too many chances… And die tomorrow”,this is the saddest thing. No one knows tommorow. So I take the advice of some preacher man,”Do all in moderation”. So have that drink,try the pink-bluish-orangish cocktail infront of U,eat lizard legs,step on the gas(No pass 120 o!) And generally LIVE life to the moderate fullest. Because Y.O.D.O

    • LMAO this has to be the funniest comment I’ve seen.
      “So have that drink,try the pink-bluish-orangish cocktail infront of U,eat lizard legs,step on the gas(No pass 120 o!”

      But the best advice ever is right there ‘Be moderate”

Please say something. I love reading your comments.

