The Climb

76546_10151116548178710_1318568581_n

I imagine I’m 80

I imagine I sit on the porch facing the sun, staring out into the beautiful distance and seeing the pictures and videos of my life as though its a movie;
the things I’ve done, the experiences I’ve had, the “friends for life”
I imagine I remember the trip I took around the world in my 20s, the beautiful countries, the new and exciting experiences
I imagine I remember smiling fondly to myself at the memories running through my mind
I imagine I remember having the greatest time ever, I imagine I was very happy and excited and nothing could top that feeling
I imagine I remember sitting around, hanging out, acting silly with friends, I can’t exactly remember what we are laughing about but the various pictures of us laughing seem enough, I’m content with that.
They run through my mind like scenes of a movie on fast forward
I imagine I remember my job that seemed to come so easily to me when others thought it was stressful,
I imagine I remember the fun and fulfillment I got from it, traveling, doing my part to make the world that much better
I imagine I remember falling in love and it was exactly as it was described in that old Mary-Kate and Ashley movie;
“its that can’t eat, can’t sleep, reach for the stars, over the fence, world-series kinda thing”
I imagine I remember that feeling being the absolute best I had ever felt
I imagine I remember the interesting things I did, the stupid things, the odd things, the totally strange things, the firsts; bungee jumping, paragliding, swimming in the Mediterranean, roller skating, bowling, snow-boarding…
I imagine I remember the chances I took

I imagine I remember the day I decided that I needed to begin to live my life for me, the day I decided that my life needed to be like a blockbuster that sells out in the first 2 days, rather than a low-budget movie that people appreciate but would rather not own a copy of.

I figure that could very well be today.
I open my eyes and begin my climb.

7 thoughts on “The Climb

  1. Tomiwa Olajide says:

    Adeolaaaaaaaaaaa! There’s this quality that you bring to your writing that just goes straight to my spirit. You just released wild fire on my inside. Thank you!
    Sent from my BlackBerry® smartphone provided by Airtel Nigeria.

  2. Omotosho Olawale says:

    LOL! Was so eager to comment that I was writing in da column for website.
    Anoda masterpiece Dear! continue living ur life for u and dnt stop motivating da world to do so. Love u pieces!

Please say something. I love reading your comments.

