I want to dance

I want to dance in the rain
And not think I’m acting childish

I want to dance in the rain
and not think of catching a cold after

I want to dance in the rain
And not think of my inhaler

I want to dance in the rain
And not worry about my weave

I want to dance in the rain
To the melody being played by the raindrops
A tune only my heart can understand

I want to dance in the rain
And not worry about my problems
Or what would become of me tomorrow

I want to dance in the rain
And let the glassy drops wash away my pain
Wash away all my heartache and fear

I want to dance in the rain
And mix my salty tears with it

I want to dance in the rain
In front of so many onlookers with envy in their eyes,
Peeping from their windows
Or from under shades where they have taken refuge

I want to dance in the rain
Laughing my heart out
As it echoes miles away

I want to dance in the rain
Looking to the sky
To receive showers of blessings

I want to dance in the rain
To taste the heavenly water

I want to dance in the rain
And soak myself in it

I want to dance in the rain
And when it stops,
Strip off my wet clothes
Walk home
To a new me


This beautiful piece was written by Modurodoluwa Ige; Continue to Rest in Perfect Peace.

Please say something. I love reading your comments.

