Home is where you are

Daily Prompt: There’s No Place Like Home

943027_490102857727513_589672120_n.jpg

Growing up, I was an army brat, we moved around A LOT! So much so that I attended 6 different primary schools in six different cities, only 3 secondary schools though, and that’s because I attended boarding school for the first 3 years.
Simply, it was amazing!

I thoroughly enjoyed moving around, my life seemed like a huge adventure, in some places, I sort of just played a part, like I was living one of my books, I started reading at a very young age, when I was younger, anytime I had a birthday coming, I started to remind everyone around me that all I wanted were storybooks and novels (not these days though, I grew up, discovered the amazing world of… so many other things…heels LOL)
So, my imagination was always very active.
Even today, I refer to myself as having an “imaginative imagination”…it’s pretty awesome the pictures my mind can conceive.

Anyways, I’m not sure if the fact that we moved around so much was an answer to my need for travel, for adventure, for constantly changing location or if it was that early moving around that fueled my passion for it now.
I really can’t stay in one place for too long and too long in my book refers to about 3 months, I start to feel restless and have to get out for a while, even if it’s just to visit a different town.

I really, really enjoy travelling, seeing new places… there’s a certain sort of freedom I feel when I get somewhere new, it could even just be a place I haven’t been in a while.
To borrow a line from my sister “I’m a travel junkie, the world is my project”

Now, I haven’t traveled even half as much as I would like to but it’s definitely one of my greatest passions and it’s in the top 3 on bucket list.

Home for me is simply where I find love, friends, peace, that special kind of freedom… yes, all that sappy crap.
Home is where I can be free; mind, body and soul
Home is knowing that I have a place to return to at the end of the day, a family.

2 thoughts on “Home is where you are

  1. mo says:

    Restless one we got here…. Globetrotter! Guess what, i kinna like ur restlessness… nice write up… giggled at some bit.

Please say something. I love reading your comments.

