Aside

My ‘ehn?’ problem

Before I left Nigeria and moved here, when someone says something to me and I do not get what they say, my basic responses were “excuse me”, “I’m sorry, I didn’t get that”, “Pardon me”, “sorry?”, “what?” (Yes, I know this last one isn’t very polite). And I used to change and switch them up often.

Anyway, about 6 months ago, I heard myself, and it was a sad, sad day… that day… when I heard myself say “ehn?” when I wanted someone to repeat something they had said to me, I’m not even sure when it started exactly, but it’s probably because they don’t speak English here and I found out early on that if I say one English word, I had to spend time explaining it or trying anyway… so I would guess that this particular problem started at about the same time as I started to make sentences like “Jane, you know, yes? Yesterday, I see, in market” LMAO *sigh*

It’s both funny and sad.

Anyway, my spoken English isn’t in any danger.
I do have this ‘ehn?’ problem that I would like to kick though, I find it so annoying.
And I always hear myself after I’ve said it. I was thinking yesterday that I could try pinching myself every time I say it, then maybe, soon the memory of the pain from that will remind me to not make that totally annoying sound.

What do y’all think? I’m desperate, I need some serious help. I need to kick this problem.

Help me please!!!

Adeola Matemilola

9 thoughts on “My ‘ehn?’ problem

  1. annonymous says:

    I think it’s okay, its very Nigerian and I think you should be proud of it. If the British have kicked the use of “innit” I don’t it would have ever grown to have that level of swag it has nowadays.

    Our “ehn” is proudly Nigerian…part of our communicating construct and you should be cool with it.

Please say something. I love reading your comments.

