To those we’ve lost, for those of us that remain

The father who was trying to make up for lost time, being the best you could be, giving the best you could, as fast as you could, we remember you.
The mother who had been away for far too long, and came back eager to begin again, only to be taken away for good, we love you still.
The daughter who had barely started living, there were great plans. Jesus probably wanted you to keep that first kiss for him. We couldn’t forget you if we tried.

It’s worst when they are taken away from us so suddenly, we can’t seem to comprehend what’s happening.
We are then left with wishes; that we had hugged them tighter, that we had said we loved them more, that we had taken more pictures , that we had enjoyed the little things more… and everything we had just doesn’t seem enough

God knows best.
The bible says “all things work together for good…”

I wish I could do more for you, I wish I could promise that the pain will go away, but I cannot promise that
I can promise that the pain will get easier to live with
I can promise that you will laugh again
I can promise that you will do the things you used to do together and enjoy it, even though you might miss them just a little bit more just then
And most of all, I promise, even though its probably almost impossible to see right now, it will be fine.

This is first, for one of my best friends Yewande, I love you.
I know it’s nothing compared, but I hope you find solace in the good times.
He will always be a part of you, and I’m sure he loved you more than he was ever able to show.

Adeola Matemilola

One thought on “To those we’ve lost, for those of us that remain

  1. Amaka says:

    I’ll be praying for you and your family Yewande. Only God will give you the strength to bear this and to move on. You have memories of him no matter how short, hold on to them and smile baby. Love you lots!

Please say something. I love reading your comments.

