Questioning what I believe

I came across a dead cat this morning, a completely headless cat, lying there by the side of the road. At first, I thought it was just a sleeping cat, it almost looked kinda peaceful, until I noticed all the blood and well, the lack of a head.
It was a good thing I hadn’t had anything to eat this morning or I might have lost my breakfast quite violently.
I was immediately struck by an image of a drunk group, in the guise of having “a good time” hunting down a cat, probably luring it to them with the promise of a pet or a cuddle, holding it down, cutting its head off and come to think of it, were they walking around with a knife in their pocket? And what kinda knife was it?

And now to the heart of the matter, what differentiates a person who can cut off a cat’s head and leave it to rot by the side of the road from a person who does the same thing to a human being?
What sick, twisted mind would think, “hey, you know what would be fun? I think I’ll cut off a cat’s head today”
What genetic accident causes one person to be Abel and another to be Cain?
What makes one person sick at the thought or sight of something like this, and makes another person excited?
Is it that like 50% of the world is simply insane?
Or is it the other half that just don’t get it?
Maybe I’m even a little crazy for even thinking about these things.

It just makes me sad… because the very scary thought is this; isn’t it these cat killers of today that grow up to be the people killers of tomorrow?
That means there’s no end to the evil we see in the world today, a new Hitler just replaces the old one.
And this is a community of students, so there’s a very high chance that this was done by students; young people who are being trained to be “the better leaders of tomorrow”

You know what I wish?
I wish there was a reset button you could push in humans to take us back to the original good that God intended..
I also wish wishes were horses.

I’m just feeling very bummed-out today, because for the first time in a very long time, my belief about how “things will only get better” is a little shaky.
And I’m not even a cat person.
It’s just the principle of the thing.
It was a dead, headless cat.

Adeola Matemilola

12 thoughts on “Questioning what I believe

  1. Most of the human race doesn´t seem to be aware of its actions, both towards humans, but also towards any other living being. I´m also a cat-lover (as of any other animal) and the thought of a group of people maliciously taking the life of a defenceless being disgusts me. However, our perspectives on life are often guided by our own experiences with the majority, tending to live in their own “small worlds”. Many people eat animals for fun and because of them tasting nice, but if one seriously observied the methods involved in their slaughter (instead of conveniently looking the other way), I believe that the majority would also think twice before eating an animal next time round. In my opinion, there is no difference between a cuddly, furry animal and an animal standing in a field all day long. All “beings” are Gods creatures.
    Thank you for posting and best regards from the blog of Mr Midnight, Sir Winston and myself.

  2. sketch says:

    Nyc writeup.. Dnt worry, God wld press the reset button very soon.. There wld be a new beginning, a new heaven and a new earth.. Where evil would find no place… I hope we wld all be there..

  3. todimuu says:

    Thoughts of how bad the world has turned can be quite disturbing. However, the heart of man is deceitful above all things, and desperately wicked: who can know it? Hence, I have stopped trying to understand the difference between a human being and an animal in the wild as our minds are incomprehensible. It’s a world where only the strong survive and the weak suffer. Having said all that, I still do have an underlying instinct that the good can make it a better place. I am secretly becoming an aficionado of your blog.
     

Please say something. I love reading your comments.

