Mommy, I feel it too

Mommy, I feel it too.
The fear, the pain, the confusion…
I’ve only lived in you one month but I feel everything you feel
I feel the pain that has you contemplating abortion, even death
because it’s starting to feel like this life… your life isn’t worth living anymore
Surely, no one was meant to exist in this way,
because you have merely been existing,
living stopped a lifetime ago,

That night, you were 15, on the way back from the corner shop, when that man dragged you into the corner and stripped you of your innocence, you never even saw his face,
You opened up an account that night in your mind and stuffed the memory and a piece of yourself in there, locking it tightly, so nothing escapes, not realizing that nothing will get in either,
At that party, you were 17, your first boyfriend, who had promised to wait, “I love you baby, I’ll do whatever makes you happy”,
he got drunk and lost his mind, forgot his promise and lost his pants, when he was done, he passed you on to 2 other friends you had only just met that night,
And you fought,so hard…only it was in your mind, you were too weak to fight physically,
You lay there and made-believe you were in love and this was your night to be loved.
Your entire life was already make-believe, so it was easy.
That account was half-way full now.
Now you are 19, touched again, in that way that had become much too familiar and much too abhorrent, a one-night stand, in a bid to fill the hole in your heart
alone, afraid, in pain, confused… and contemplating abortion, even death
because it’s starting to feel like this life… your life isn’t worth living anymore
Surely, no one was meant to exist in this way.

But mommy, I want you to know, I feel it too… and I want to live.
Mommy, please hear me, I know you feel alone, but you are not alone, I am here
and I only want to love you.
You know the right thing, you feel it in your heart… our hearts beating in sync as they are
You feel me, just as much as I feel you,
so please hear me, I want to live… let me live for you. Let me live for us.
Mommy, can you hear me? Mommy…

5 thoughts on “Mommy, I feel it too

  1. izzyleecious says:

    Beautiful poem darling!

    I’m an art enthusiast and I am actually really passionate about abortion and similar stuff. Would you mind if i perform this poem? (with credit to u of course) or we do it together or I add my own words in a re-make or something?

    Ama feature u in my blog anywayz!

    Nice work!

    Check out my (makeup/art) blog too! http://www.tresjoliebyizzy.wordpress.com

    • Oh wow! Thank you so much.
      I would absolutely love a joint work, like you add another part or something, that would be awesome. However, you can perform it also.

      I’m very humbled by your entire comment, thank you.
      And I’m available to co-write something anytime.

Please say something. I love reading your comments.

