Same pain…different sides

Maybe this is none of my business.
Maybe I’m too far removed from it to have an opinion.
But I do… these are people just like me,
These are black people just like me,
Am I finally the luckier one of us because I was born and raised in my own native country,
Did I get the better deal because I cannot be shot down or choked out because of my skin colour,
I wonder, do they envy me my “freedom”, “poverty”, high-illiteracy rate”, “power outage”…
I wonder, would they trade places with me?
Then it occurs to me that there are so many young men in my country who would happily trade places,
Who would criticize the need to complain about a few people getting killed or locked up once in a while,
Then it occurs to me how humans simply live in perspectives or perceptions, we’re greedy and selfish, too self-involved
Because this is what they know… illiteracy, unemployment, poverty, government corruption, boko-haram
In their minds, this is the worst life could ever be
It couldn’t possibly get any worse than this, can it?

But imagine the husband, father, brother, son, whose only crime was breaking up a fight,
Imagine the young boy whose only crime was jaywalking,
Imagine the young boy whose only crime was going to the store after 1am,
Imagine the young mother whose only crime was firing warning shots to scare off the assailant that attacked her while she was walking home with her son,
Imagine a life where black young boys learn how to hide from the police before they learn to read; learnt that “snitching” to the police is not acceptable,
Imagine a life where a police car driving by feels like when the music stops in a game of musical chairs,
Imagine a life where young black boys are forced to grow up before they should; getting ready for a war that they know will eventually reach them,

It scares me to think about how another young black man in America could get killed tomorrow for no real reason,
It scares me to think about how another struggling black woman in America could get thrown in jail for life tomorrow just because,
It scares me to think about how another 100 students in Nigeria could get blown to bits tomorrow for no reason,
It scares me to think about how a Mosque/Church filled with worshipers in Nigeria could get blown up tomorrow just because,
it scares me… there are demons everywhere…

Then I realize in the game of life, there are actually no perspectives, we all see/experience the same shit, we’re just standing on different sides of the fire. But we feel the flames the same… it’s the same helplessness, the same hopelessness, the same senselessness.
All we really have left is faith… faith to keep us and strengthen us through all of this senselessness.

#equalrights #equality #blacklivesmatter #crimingwhilewhite #alivewhileblack #handsupdontshoot #icantbreathe


©Adeola Matemilola 2014

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Adeola Matemilola and aeyshadeedee.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Please say something. I love reading your comments.

