Me and You (Meewa)

I walked out to the balcony tonight and stared up at the sky,
I haven’t done that in a while,
So the sight of all those stars playing around up there as if without a care in the world hit me with the force of a strong single punch to my midsection
I was also a little jealous of them

Then I remembered… Do you?
Us; 2 chairs, feet up on the railings, those stars
Talking all night as if without a care in the world, just like the stars, I suppose
We talked about everything… Real and imagined, what was and what could be
Then I remembered… Do you?
Sleep creeping in, but we couldn’t let it end,
It was like we would run out of nights if we let this one slip away,
Everything else all but disappeared,
It is said that life is essentially made up of memories and unforgettable moments,
Those nights are essential bricks in mine,
Without them, I’d be all wobbly like a building with cracked foundations,
I’m not really sure what those nights were about anymore but I wouldn’t trade them for all the riches in the world,
For they exposed to me;
the richness of your mind,
the tenderness of your heart,
the awkwardness of your soul,
the vulnerability of your spirit
and the beautiful force with which you love, withholding nothing, showing and sharing love the way it was meant to be.

Just in case I have never said it or will never again say it; I refuse to go to my grave without clearly and openly telling you… You, my darling are one of my life’s greatest loves, and that’s in every way love can, has been or ever will be presented.
IMG_20150214_005310


©Adeola Matemilola 2015

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Adeola Matemilola and aeyshadeedee.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

4 thoughts on “Me and You (Meewa)

  1. adetokunbohr says:

    My favorite part:

    “Then I remembered…do you?
    Sleep creeping in, but we couldn’t let it end,
    It was like we would run out of nights if we let this one slip away…”

    I’ve lived this part but never put it in words. I couldn’t have penned it better. I smile because this absolutely how it felt/feels: like we would run out of nights!

    You’re good. Thumbs up.

Please say something. I love reading your comments.

